Thursday, June 30, 2011

Last Day to Enter the Katherine Paterson Prize

Breaking news! (And once home from Maui--I will return to my regular three day a week blog format.) Today is the last day to enter Hunger Mountain's Katherine Paterson Prize for Children's & YA fiction.

What is the Katherine Paterson Prize for YA and Children’s Writing?

An annual prize for writing for children. A chance for your writing for children to be read by Hunger Mountain editors and guest judges!

What will the winner receive?

One overall first place winner receives $1,000 and publication!
Three runners-up receive $100 each.  We choose one runner-up from the YA (young adult) entries, one from the Middle Grade entries, and one from the Picture Book or Writing for Young Children entries.

Who can enter the contest?

Anyone! Everyone!

Who is this year’s judge?

Kimberly Willis Holt
The 2011 judge is Kimberly Willis Holt, author of the Piper Reed series, My Louisiana Sky, Mister and Me, Dancing in Cadillac Light, Keeper of the Night, Waiting for Gregory, Part of Me, and Skinny Brown Dog; winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature for When Zachary Beaver Came to Town; and winner of the 2011 YALSA BEST FICTION for Young Adults for The Water Seeker.

When is the deadline?

The postmark deadline is June 30th

Where is last year’s winning entry?

Right here! Read “Steve” by Jaramy Conners, chosen by Holly Black.
Or read runner-up in Young Adult fiction, S.E. Sinkhorn’s Chasing Shadows;  runner-up in Middle Grade Fiction Marcia Popp’s The Ugliest Dog in the World; and runner-up in picture book/writing for Young Children Jane Kohuth’s Something at the Hill
You might also read the 2009 winner, “Crazy Cat” by Liz Cook, chosen by Katherine Paterson or “Tornado” by Susan Hill Long and “No Mistake” by Tricia Springstubb, two runners-up from 2009.

For information on how to send your submission and entry fee online, please go HERE. 

Good luck!

No comments:

Post a Comment